Editor's Introduction

The jubilee edition of the Adam Mickiewicz University Law Review is part of a series of initiatives dedicated to the centenary of the Faculty of Law and Administration of Poznań University. The pages of the Review commemorate the achievements of deceased professors of the Faculty, with their work taking on a new form thanks to the English language translations. Thus, the homage that we pay to the former masters of the Poznan legal community also allows us to make the historic scholarly achievements of our Faculty accessible to foreign readers.

The jubilee edition of the Adam Mickiewicz University Law Review consists of a set of scholarly papers selected by the department heads at the Faculty of Law and Administration who accepted the invitation to take part in the project: Department of Constitutional Law, Department of Theory and Philosophy of Law, Department of Roman Law, Legal Traditions and Cultural Heritage Law, Department of Political Systems, Department of International Law and International Organizations, Department of Administrative and Administrative Judicial Procedure, Department of Administrative Law, Department of Public Business Law, Department of Criminal Law, Department of Financial Law and Department of Economic Sciences. This review includes the papers of the following late Professors of the Faculty of Law and Administration of the Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań: Antoni Peretiatkowicz and Karol Marian Pospieszalski, proposed by Professor Witold Płowiec; Zygmunt Ziembiński and Czesław Znamierowski, proposed by Professor Marek Smolak; Władysław Bojarski and Zygmunt Lisowski, proposed by Professor Wojciech Dajczak; Bogdan Lesiński and Jan Rutkowski, proposed by Profesor Małgorzata Materniak-Pawłowska; Bohdan Winiarski, Krzysztof Skubiszewski, Alfons Klafkowski and Anna Michalska, proposed by Professor Tadeusz Gadkowski; Zbigniew Janowicz, proposed by Professor Andrzej Skoczylas; Marian Zimmermann, proposed by Professor Zbigniew Janku; Teresa Rabska, proposed by Professor Katarzyna Kokocińska; Józef Jan Bossowski and Bogusław Janiszewski, proposed by Professor Justyn Piskorski; Jan Zdzitowiecki and Roch Knapowski, proposed by Professor Andrzej Gomułowicz, and Edward Taylor, proposed by Professor Elżbieta Jantoń-Drozdowska. Although the selection of works presented in the Review only provides a small indication of the rich achievements of the Faculty of Law and Administration, it is our hope that it may become one of the jubilee showcases of the Poznań scholarly community.

The publication is indebted to the institutional and financial support of the Ministry of Science and Higher Education, His Magnificence the Rector of Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznan, Professor Andrzej Lesicki and the Dean of the Faculty of Law and Administration, Professor Roman Budzinowski, to whom we wish to express our heartfelt thanks. We would also like to thank the team of translators who prepared the translation of the works collected here: Stephen Dersley, Szymon Nowak, Ryszard Reisner and Tomasz Żebrowski; the reviewers of this volume for their invaluable observations and comments – Professor Katarzyna Łasak and Professor Jacek Wiewiorowski, as well as the heirs of the copyrights, who agreed to the publication to the selected works.

> Paweł Kwiatkowski Editor-in-chief of the Adam Mickiewicz University Law Review